A Room With a Roll. And Tape. And Scissors.

First, some housekeeping items.  As I mentioned last week, Keep It Neat turned one this past weekend!  Happy Blogiversary to us! (Me & KIN that is).  To celebrate, I’ll direct you back to the posts from my very first week living in the blogosphere, right here and here.  Feels good to be going strong, although admittedly at this time of year it’s way too hard to find time to share my bits of neat-dom and I know I’ve been slacking.  Ironically it’s also the time of year that pushes us to our organizing limits.  Lists to make! Things to pack! Decorating! Baking! Presents to wrap!  New Year’s Resolutions & Cleaning!  I’m leaving you all hanging when you probably need me most.  I promise to do better.  You don’t deserve that.

So let’s talk wrapping.  It is that time of year.  Most gifts have been bought, but are sitting hiding in my guest room in their naked state.  Also stuffing the guest room to its fullest are boxes of winter clothes and boots, and empty boxes of Christmas decorations.  My main table downstairs is pushed to the side of my “dining room” to accommodate a tree in our 13′ wide home.  If you don’t get where I’m going with this, let me make it clear – I have nowhere to wrap gifts!  Forget the floor.  KP makes sure our floors don’t get cold by generously sharing her fur…all over them, pretty much at any time of year.

What I really need is a wrapping room.  A room dedicated to wrapping gifts and other crafts.  It would be heaven.  Ok, so I guess I don’t really need one.  I get my gifts wrapped fine without one every year (remember last year’s gift pile?), but it would be so much easier to have a dedicated space.

But in honor of this pipe dream, I decided to do a little Googling and see what kind of organized wrapping room eye candy popped up…

Here is a very classic looking wrapping and craft room.  It’s a pretty big room, so having spare space like this is really wishful thinking, but I love the organization and having all that room to work would be amazing.  And the woven stools, wicker baskets, and kraft paper toned board in the back bring in some nice natural tones making it feel cozier.  Love it.

wrapping-and-craft-room

This is another take on a wrapping and craft room, with a funkier twist.  What I like about this picture is it looks like they’ve taken a small hallway or space to dedicate it to wrapping.  You don’t need to have a full spare room…because honestly, who freaking does!

funky-wrapping-craft-room

One thing both rooms (and most that you’ll find out there) have in common, is an area to corral wrapping paper and ribbons on dowels.  So they are easy to roll out and use.  Here’s a shot of an organized ribbon station on crack…in a good way.

wrapping-room-ribbons

 

And here’s another picture where you could use “wrapping station” and “on crack” in the same sentence.  B & I actually saw this when it originally aired, and it blew our minds (yes, his too).  Candy Spelling let camera crews come through her $150 million dollar home as she was trying to sell it.  Her wrapping station is out of control.  And so is she.  I couldn’t find a good pic, but here’s a still of Crazy Candy in her room during the documentary:

candy-spelling-wrapping-room-still-image

Now back to reality.  I do not have space for a wrapping room.  Nor do I have time to spend my days in there, lolling around draped in ribbons.  So a wrapping room is not in my [immediate] future.  But look what $20 bucks and a trip to BBB can buy you!  Your very own wrapping STATION!  Easy to hang in a spare closet (god I wish I had one of those too), and tuck away when you don’t need it.  It’s a great solution for the realist out there.  It does look like it holds a decent amount too.  And you could switch it up at the end of the year to hold only holiday-themed items if you were pressed for space.  I’m just mad I didn’t find it until this late in the game.  Typical.

real-simple-wrapping-station

And somehow this image popped up in my Google search of “Simple Wrapping Rooms”.  I’m not sure I quite get it, but I do love me some fries and a good aioli.  It’s probably one of Google’s new tools or something.  “Slide in a picture of something you know the Googler finds delicious, it will get them excited and they’ll start Googling like crazy”.  Something like that.

oven-fries-aioli

I hope you are all enjoying your Holiday season, and finding pretty and unique ways to wrap all your presents.  And if you’re doing this in a wrapping room, I’m jealous – can I come over to drool?  I may not be back online before Christmas, so if not – Merry Merry!  See you in the New Year!  We’ve got lots to organize!

XOXO, Gossip Girl.

Or should I say GUY.  I didn’t see it, but sources tell me Dan Humphrey turned out to be GG.  What?!  Weird.  That show totally jumped the shark 2 summers ago when Serena stole a horse from the Hamptons Polo match and ran away.  That’s when B and I knew it was time to move on.

Leave a Reply

