NYC 26.2: Weeks 16, 17, & the start of 18 (last week!)

Hal Higdon-NYC 26.2-Marathon Training

It’s here!!  Marathon Week!!  NYRR and Mayor Bloomberg have said the NYC Marathon will be a GO this Sunday, despite recent devastation to the NY metro area.  I’m excited to be a part of this special race, which is being dedicated to the City of New York, the victims of the hurricane, and their families.

So alas it’s time to begin to wrap up this series, which probably caused me to LOSE readership over the past 4 months since I’ve been just droning on about running, Hal, and my side stitch that won’t quit.  A big thanks for sticking it out with me – your regularly scheduled organizing will be back once this race is complete.  But you know I won’t put the series to bed without a full marathon recap, so expect that next week.  And now, I present my last weekly training recap.

Week 16: Following my last long run completed last weekend (20 just under 3:00) I felt confident about going the distance on 11/4, but was starting to get a little worried about pace.  Not a great feeling going into taper mode.  But I thought I could work on pace a little at lesser mileage over the next 2 weeks before I completely rested in Week 18.  Didn’t happen.  My side stitch came back with a vengeance on Monday and Tuesday when I tried to squeeze a few miles in at lunch.  I was able to get a slow 3.5mi in on Mon and only 3 on Tues.  GRR.  After that I decided I’d do everything nice and slow, trying to rest my side while keeping my legs moving.  So I rested Wed/Thurs before attempting 12 on Friday.  That 12 turned into 10 pretty fast because it was POURING rain and I had A in the jogger (with a rain cover, but still).  I needed to get it in before JB’s bachelorette.  It wasn’t the ideal first week of taper, but I’m glad I got in what I could.  Weekly total: 16.5.  Kinda lame.  Yikes.

Wk 17: Came down with a monster cold (what is the deal with this, I’m always sick!) so I rested Monday and Tuesday.  I felt really good during a 4 miler on Wednesday at lunch and then again on Friday for another 4.  Saturday morning I was up early to squeeze in 8 miles before heading to A’s pal S’ first birthday party!  I felt really sluggish and slow the first 2-3 miles of this run, but felt great at the end.  So things were definitely starting to look up.  Weekly total: 16.
Wk 18: The Last Week! Hurricane Sandy forced some rest on Monday and Tuesday, but it was kinda of welcome because I’m still battling this annoying cold and my IT band was feeling tight after this weekend.  Happens every time the temp drops.  Boo.  Snuck in a very light and easy 3 miles on both Wednesday and Thursday (today).  I may get out to walk or jog a mile on Saturday followed by some stretching, but that’s it.  I like getting out the day before a race just to freshen up my legs.  Makes me feel better too.
But other than that…that’s it folks!  It’s been a long journey since I started this series back in June, and it’s hard to believe that 26.2 has snuck up on me already.  In general my legs feel pretty good, but am really hoping my cold is fully gone by Sunday and my side stitch doesn’t act up.  I’m anxious and nervous which is silly, but I can’t help it.  I get like this before every race.  You’d think after 15+ years of running competitively I’d be over that, but nope.  Happens even before local 5k races!  As for race weekend plans, we’re headed up to NYC on Saturday to hit up the race expo at the Javits center and have a pasta dinner with my family.  And then before I know it I’ll be standing on the Verrazano Narrows Bridge wondering what the %$^& I’ve gotten myself into!
Again, a big thanks for sticking with me through this training, and I’ll be reporting back soon with a race recap.  Have a great weekend!
2 thoughts on “NYC 26.2: Weeks 16, 17, & the start of 18 (last week!)

  1. I found your blog through facebook, and I just wanted to say GOOD LUCK on your race!!! I am so excited for you! I know how it goes, getting nervous every single time before a race, but 26.2, wow. Best of luck to you! I know you will do great, and I can’t wait to hear how it goes. (It may just motivate me to sign up for a marathon … maybe haha) I wish I lived closer so we could run together for old times sake. That would be fun. 🙂

    Becca

    • Hi! So glad you found me! I would love to run together for old times sake – that would be fun. Do your parents still live in E-mont? Maybe we can make it happen one time! And you should totally try for a marathon – training isn’t as hard as you’d think, and finishing is more rewarding than you think. Hope all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

