NYC 26.2: Week 15.

Hal Higdon-NYC 26.2-Marathon Training

Last week was my final push for mileage before starting to taper for the big day.  I can’t believe it’s actually coming up so fast.  I feel like I’ve been training for this race that will just happen “some day” and now it’s less than 3 weeks away.

Unfortunately I still have this extremely annoying side cramp that I’m dealing with.  Ironically it’s really bad at like 2-3 miles in, but then it goes away a few miles later and I’m able to push through for long runs, almost like my body is saying, we’re way too tired to deal with this – we’ve got bigger things to worry about!

Twice I tried to squeeze in 4 miles on the treadmill at work, and both times were painful in my abdominal area where the “cramp” is (I really have no better way to describe it other than that).  So then I let myself rest on Thursday to see if it helped.  I went for 20 on Friday and it was bothering me in the beginning, but I was able to get through and complete the 20 in a decent time.  A little slower than I was hoping because I ran in the ‘burbs and the hills were killer, but I was happy to at least be able to run through my cramp and complete the 20 without stopping.

I rested my legs on Saturday and went for an easy 3 miles on Sunday with A and KP.  Not an easy task, but it was so nice out and I thought it would be good to get my legs moving again after the 20 on Friday.  Now I’m in taper mode, and while I’m happy to be close to the end of all this training, I’m a little sad that it’s coming to an end!  This week’s total: 31 miles vs. goal of 35 (89% attainment).

Leave a Reply

