NYC 26.2: Weeks 10 & 11.

Hal Higdon-NYC 26.2-Marathon TrainingWell it’s a good thing I started putting mileage on my legs early this year, because Weeks 10 and 11 turned into serious step-back weeks…

Week 10 was our first week back from vacation, and the week after Labor day.  So everything’s always a little wacky during a holiday week.  I really tried to make very early morning runs happen but I was not successful.  I got 4 miles in during lunch on Wednesday and Thursday, and a light 3 in between A’s naps on Friday with her in the jogger.  Saturday morning I was able to get 15 miles in but it was hot and humid, and I was tired.  Sunday morning I intended to get back into my Lithe routine, but A was sick and up a few times the night before so that wasn’t in the cards.  My total for the week was 26 miles, 5 short of the goal of 31.  Yikes.

Week 11 started out really good, and had potential to be a big mileage week (half marathon on Sunday!).  But it quickly derailed.  I got 5 miles in at lunch on Monday and felt great.  My schedule didn’t allow for anything on Tuesday, but I got another 5mi in at lunch on Wednesday.  Thursday morning I was supposed to travel to Atlanta for work but woke up at 4:30am soaked in sweat with a super high fever.  It came with a terrible sore throat and it didn’t break for almost 24 hours.  It was terrible.  So no running for me Thurs-Sat.  On Sunday I stupidly attempted to run in a half marathon (“I’ll just jog it!”), but felt miserable.  I stopped after 5 miles, just in time to have to walk through the finishing area with all the elite male runners finishing.  There I was just wanting to get my bag and get the heck out of there, but people probably thought I was some crazy elite runner.  So embarrassing. And it meant week 11’s total was a mere 15 miles, TWENTY miles short of the goal of 35.  Not good.

Week 12 had some highs and lows; I’ll recap later in the week.

One thought on “NYC 26.2: Weeks 10 & 11.

  1. Pingback: NYC 26.2: Weeks 12, 13, 14. | keep it neat

Leave a Reply

