NYC 26.2: Week 2

Hal Higdon-NYC 26.2-Marathon Training

Very successful Week 2.  The week’s goal was 20 miles and I actually ended up doing 21.  Like in Week 1 I had to switch days around a bit (moved my long run from Friday to Sunday since A and I went to the shore for the day on Friday).  I had a good start to the week which I’ve found really helps keep you going.  If you procrastinate or skip too many days in the beginning of the week it’s just too hard to make up for it on the back end.

Here’s how it all went down:

I was actually able to squeeze 4 miles in on Monday, Tuesday, AND Wednesday during lunch.  That’s a record for me.  I don’t usually get down to our office gym more than once a week.  But training for a marathon with a 9 month old is going to require strategically squeezed-in runs in whenever I possibly can.  And I have the gym-at-lunch thing down to a science so it’s getting easier to do.  But that’s a topic for another post.

After that craziness I gave myself Thursday & Friday off to rest.  Well, Friday I was certainly active with A at the shore, but no training.

On Saturday I went to my usual 8:30am Lithe Method class.  This week it was Skinny Mini, one of my favorites and a good option for Hal’s “cross training” days.  Great blend of cardio, arms, and toning at the barre.  Love my Lithe.

I’m estimating that Sunday’s long run ended up being a little over 9 miles.  B and I took A in our running stroller and attempted the loop (our 8.4 mile circuit around the Schuylkill river and Art Museum, for non-Philadelphians), but ended up just doing the up/back part of MLK drive since the Back on My Feet 20 in 24 race was still going on the Kelly Drive side.  We turned around a few minutes past the 4 mile mark, and I did a few run-ahead-and-double-backs since I wanted to pick up the pace a little.  So that’s where I get my 9 mile guesstimate.  It felt hotter and stickier than any of those 100 degree days 2 weeks ago which made things  a little tough, but overall my legs and lungs felt good so I was pleased.

Week 3 is presenting some scheduling challenges so we’ll see how things pan out.  Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “NYC 26.2: Week 2

Leave a Reply

